• Home
  • 2013 Big Bend Homeless Coalition's "Champions of Hope" Banquet

Big Bend Homeless Coalition's "Champions of Hope" Award - September 26, 2013

We are honored that Sustainable Tallahassee's Community Carbon Fund was recognized as a "Champion of Hope" at the 2013 Big Bend Homeless Coalition's annual banquet.  Watch this short video that was shown at the banquet:  

Our Community Carbon Fund earned this recognition by providing over $31,000 worth of goods and services to BBHC's Hope Community facility, which lowered the carbon footprint by 45.5 metric tons of CO2 with an expected utility savings of over $10,000 - every year!  That savings is equivalent to one-fourth of BBHC's annual food budget and will increase BBHC's ability to provide services to clients.  The actual cost to the Community Carbon fund was only $17,100, because we were able to leverage our funds with donated labor and materials, and with energy rebates from the City of Tallahassee.

Imagine - a one-time expenditure of $17,100 by the Community Carbon Fund is saving the Hope Community $10,000 every year in the future, and reducing greenhouse emissions 45.5 metric tons every year in the future!  

The banquet at the Goodwood Mansion was a fundraiser for the Big Bend Homeless Coalition, a celebration to recognize Tallahassee residents who have worked their way out of homelessness - and to recognize those who made it possible.  It was emceed by Gary Yordon and included cocktails, hors d’oeurves, coffee and dessert by 101 Restaurant, and music by the Zack Bartholomew Trio. 

Learn more about what the Community Carbon Fund does and how it works.  And learn what BBHC provides for our community, and how our community supports  BBHC.  


At left: Debbie Gibson, Jackie Watts, owner of Watts Mechanical,
Bob Henderson, Anthony Gaudio,  Susan Pourciau, Executive Director of BBHC, and Steve Urse.

Representing Sustainable Tallahassee at the event were Anthony Gaudio, ST President, Debbie Gibson, ST’s Carbon Fund Committee Chair, Steve Urse, Carbon Fund Committee member, Bob Henderson Carbon Fund Committee member and ST Board Member, and Becky Parsons, ST Board Member. 

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software